Gluten-Free Diet Specialists Lisle IL

This page provides useful content and local businesses that give access to Gluten-Free Diet Specialists in Lisle, IL. You will find helpful, informative articles about Gluten-Free Diet Specialists, including "Sneaky Sources of Gluten". You will also find local businesses that provide the products or services that you are looking for. Please scroll down to find the local resources in Lisle, IL that will answer all of your questions about Gluten-Free Diet Specialists.

Deepa S Deshmukh, LDN, MPH, RD
(630) 839-9296
Dupage Dietitians3080 Ogden Ave
Lisie, IL
 
Jean Healy
(630) 963-5440
4900 Main St
Downers Grove, IL
Services
Diabetes Education, Nutrition Counseling, Weight Management, Diet Plan, Sports Nutrition, First Consultation, Weight Loss
Hours
Sunday:Closed
Monday:9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday:9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday:9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday:9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday:9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday:Closed

Lindsay A Calvario, LDN, MS, RD
(630) 637-9300
Rago & Associates525 S Washington St
Naperville, IL
 
Barbara Allen, LDN, RD
(630) 253-6512
1839 Wehrli Rd
Naperville, IL
 
Christine Palumbo
(630) 369-8495
416 Flock Ave
Naperville, IL
Services
Diabetes Education, Nutrition Counseling, Weight Management, Diet Plan, Sports Nutrition, First Consultation, Weight Loss
Hours
Sunday:Closed
Monday:9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday:9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday:9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday:9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday:9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday:Closed

Doreen M Berard, LD, MS, RD
(630) 527-5059
Edward Hospital 801 S Washington St
Naperville, IL
 
Lindsay J Michalek, LDN, MPH, RD
Naperville, IL
 
Alternative
(630) 293-1167
1337 E Bailey Rd
Naperville, IL
Services
Diabetes Education, Nutrition Counseling, Weight Management, Diet Plan, Sports Nutrition, First Consultation, Weight Loss
Hours
Sunday:Closed
Monday:9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday:9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday:9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday:9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday:9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday:Closed

Christine M Palumbo, RD
(630) 369-8495
416 Flock Ave
Naperville, IL
 
Kimberly A Berger
(630) 653-6441
1725 S Naperville Rd,# 206
Wheaton, IL
Services
Diabetes Education, Nutrition Counseling, Weight Management, Diet Plan, Sports Nutrition, First Consultation, Weight Loss
Hours
Sunday:Closed
Monday:9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday:9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday:9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday:9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday:9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday:Closed

Sneaky Sources of Gluten

Provided by: 

By Lisa Turner

It takes more than banning bagels and beer to purge gluten from your diet. Here’s a guide to foods with hidden sources of wheat from Shelley Case, RD, author of Gluten-Free Diet: A Comprehensive Resource Guide (Case Nutrition Consulting, 2006) and a leading expert in the field.

Food: Soy sauce
The culprit: Wheat or hydrolyzed wheat protein
Solution: Look for wheat- and gluten-free soy sauce, or use tamari, made without the grain.

Food: Malt vinegar
The culprit: Malt is derived from barley, a glutinous grain.
Solution: Use balsamic, cider, wine, or other vinegar instead, which are all gluten-free.

Food: Trail mixes
The culprit: Dried fruit, like dates, is sometimes rolled in flour to prevent sticking. Plus, some chocolate and seasoned nuts can also contain malt-based flavoring.
Solution: Choose mixes with unseasoned nuts and seeds only, or mixes clearly marked gluten-free.

Food: Wine coolers and other mixed, bottled alcoholic drinks
The culprit: Although wine and distilled liquor are gluten-free, they often contain malt flavoring.
Solution: Stick with the real stuff, or make your own cooler by adding sparkling water and juice to your favorite spirits.

Food: Boxed rice mixes
The culprit: Commercial mixes, like rice pilaf or Spanish rice, can contain gluten-laden seasonings.
Solution: Choose clearly marked boxes of gluten-free mixes, or start with whole-grain rice and add your own spices, since premixed seasonings often include a binding agent derived from wheat.

Food: Cereal
The culprit: Crispy rice cereal, corn flakes, and other seemingly gluten-free cereals usually contain barley malt flavoring.
Solution: Look for cereals clearly marked gluten-free.

Food: Frozen meat patties, sausages, and hot dogs
The culprit: They often use bread crumbs, wheat flour, or wheat starch as a binding agent or filler.
Solution: Read labels carefully, and make your own when possible, or simply abstain.

Food: Japanese soba noodles and miso
The culprit: Soba noodles are gluten-free if made with pure buckwheat, but they can also be made with wheat flour. As for miso, which is usually fermented soy, it’s also sometimes mixed with fermented barley, wheat, or rice.
Solution: Skip these when ordering out, and read labels carefully before buying to make at home.

Food: Imitation seafood, such as crab in sushi
The culprit: It often contains wheat starch.
Solution: Opt for pure, raw fish, and watch out for popular seafood and crab dips.

Author: Lisa Turner

Copyright 1999-2009 Natural Solutions: Vibrant Health, Balanced Living/Alternative Medicine/InnoVisi...