Gluten-Free Diet Specialists Dover NH

This page provides useful content and local businesses that give access to Gluten-Free Diet Specialists in Dover, NH. You will find helpful, informative articles about Gluten-Free Diet Specialists, including "Sneaky Sources of Gluten". You will also find local businesses that provide the products or services that you are looking for. Please scroll down to find the local resources in Dover, NH that will answer all of your questions about Gluten-Free Diet Specialists.

Alese R. Turner-Currie, LD, MS, RD
(603) 580-6778
5 Alumni Drive
Exeter, NH
 
Jennifer J Quimby, RD
207-324-5762 x 9020
York County Community Action6 Spruce St
Sanford, ME
 
Jane M Hackett, CDE, CDN, RD
(603) 580-6778
Exeter Hospital
Exeter, NH
 
Clarissa S London, RD
(603) 889-8188
Nutrition ETC Corp15 Tanguay Ave
Nashua, NH
 
Amy W. Tuller, LD, RD
Performance Nutrition Consulting17 Elm St #3
Lancaster, NH
 
Jane M Hackett, CDE, CDN, RD
(603) 580-6778
Exeter Hospital
Exeter, NH
 
Hope E Damon, RD
(603) 526-2078
The Nutrition Counselling CenterThe Gallery Ste 202 276 Newport Rd
New London, NH
 
Gita Patel, MS, RD
(603) 643-3930
7 Partridge Road
Etna, NH
 
Kc S Wright, MS, RD
(603) 650-9495
Dartmouth Hitchock Medical Center1 Medical Center Dr
Lebanon, NH
 
Ann M Merritt, LD, MS, RD
603-357-3848 x121
Food Matters Nutrition Counseling196 Main St
Keene, NH
 

Sneaky Sources of Gluten

Provided by: 

By Lisa Turner

It takes more than banning bagels and beer to purge gluten from your diet. Here’s a guide to foods with hidden sources of wheat from Shelley Case, RD, author of Gluten-Free Diet: A Comprehensive Resource Guide (Case Nutrition Consulting, 2006) and a leading expert in the field.

Food: Soy sauce
The culprit: Wheat or hydrolyzed wheat protein
Solution: Look for wheat- and gluten-free soy sauce, or use tamari, made without the grain.

Food: Malt vinegar
The culprit: Malt is derived from barley, a glutinous grain.
Solution: Use balsamic, cider, wine, or other vinegar instead, which are all gluten-free.

Food: Trail mixes
The culprit: Dried fruit, like dates, is sometimes rolled in flour to prevent sticking. Plus, some chocolate and seasoned nuts can also contain malt-based flavoring.
Solution: Choose mixes with unseasoned nuts and seeds only, or mixes clearly marked gluten-free.

Food: Wine coolers and other mixed, bottled alcoholic drinks
The culprit: Although wine and distilled liquor are gluten-free, they often contain malt flavoring.
Solution: Stick with the real stuff, or make your own cooler by adding sparkling water and juice to your favorite spirits.

Food: Boxed rice mixes
The culprit: Commercial mixes, like rice pilaf or Spanish rice, can contain gluten-laden seasonings.
Solution: Choose clearly marked boxes of gluten-free mixes, or start with whole-grain rice and add your own spices, since premixed seasonings often include a binding agent derived from wheat.

Food: Cereal
The culprit: Crispy rice cereal, corn flakes, and other seemingly gluten-free cereals usually contain barley malt flavoring.
Solution: Look for cereals clearly marked gluten-free.

Food: Frozen meat patties, sausages, and hot dogs
The culprit: They often use bread crumbs, wheat flour, or wheat starch as a binding agent or filler.
Solution: Read labels carefully, and make your own when possible, or simply abstain.

Food: Japanese soba noodles and miso
The culprit: Soba noodles are gluten-free if made with pure buckwheat, but they can also be made with wheat flour. As for miso, which is usually fermented soy, it’s also sometimes mixed with fermented barley, wheat, or rice.
Solution: Skip these when ordering out, and read labels carefully before buying to make at home.

Food: Imitation seafood, such as crab in sushi
The culprit: It often contains wheat starch.
Solution: Opt for pure, raw fish, and watch out for popular seafood and crab dips.

Author: Lisa Turner

Copyright 1999-2009 Natural Solutions: Vibrant Health, Balanced Living/Alternative Medicine/InnoVisi...