Gluten-Free Diet Specialists Branford CT

This page provides useful content and local businesses that give access to Gluten-Free Diet Specialists in Branford, CT. You will find helpful, informative articles about Gluten-Free Diet Specialists, including "Sneaky Sources of Gluten". You will also find local businesses that provide the products or services that you are looking for. Please scroll down to find the local resources in Branford, CT that will answer all of your questions about Gluten-Free Diet Specialists.

Barbara McCarty, RD
(203) 484-2460
1320 Middletown Ave
Northford, CT
 
Amy Lynn Krystock, RD
(203) 671-3392
65 Mountain Brook Circle
Cheshire, CT
 
Anne Young, CDE, MS, RD
(203) 694-8784
Mistate Medical Center435 Lewis Ave
Meriden, CT
 
Barbara McCarty, RD
(203) 484-2460
1320 Middletown Ave
Northford, CT
 
Laurie M Hatch, RD
(860) 647-6856
Manchester Hosp71 Haynes
Manchester, CT
 
Jennifer Lim, RD
(203) 281-7555
Hamden Health Care Center1270 Sherman Ln
Hamden, CT
 
Claire L Liva Erris, RD
1010 Amherst Place
Cheshire, CT
 
Debra G Swanson, RD
(960) 940-6300
Bristol Hospital Center for Diabetes102 N Street
Bristol, CT
 
Jamie L McDermott, MS, RD
(860) 681-3742
57 Bigelow StFl 1
Bigelow, CT
 
Sharon Werner, RD, CDN
(860) 944-9776
6 Raymond Road
Avon, CT
 

Sneaky Sources of Gluten

Provided by: 

By Lisa Turner

It takes more than banning bagels and beer to purge gluten from your diet. Here’s a guide to foods with hidden sources of wheat from Shelley Case, RD, author of Gluten-Free Diet: A Comprehensive Resource Guide (Case Nutrition Consulting, 2006) and a leading expert in the field.

Food: Soy sauce
The culprit: Wheat or hydrolyzed wheat protein
Solution: Look for wheat- and gluten-free soy sauce, or use tamari, made without the grain.

Food: Malt vinegar
The culprit: Malt is derived from barley, a glutinous grain.
Solution: Use balsamic, cider, wine, or other vinegar instead, which are all gluten-free.

Food: Trail mixes
The culprit: Dried fruit, like dates, is sometimes rolled in flour to prevent sticking. Plus, some chocolate and seasoned nuts can also contain malt-based flavoring.
Solution: Choose mixes with unseasoned nuts and seeds only, or mixes clearly marked gluten-free.

Food: Wine coolers and other mixed, bottled alcoholic drinks
The culprit: Although wine and distilled liquor are gluten-free, they often contain malt flavoring.
Solution: Stick with the real stuff, or make your own cooler by adding sparkling water and juice to your favorite spirits.

Food: Boxed rice mixes
The culprit: Commercial mixes, like rice pilaf or Spanish rice, can contain gluten-laden seasonings.
Solution: Choose clearly marked boxes of gluten-free mixes, or start with whole-grain rice and add your own spices, since premixed seasonings often include a binding agent derived from wheat.

Food: Cereal
The culprit: Crispy rice cereal, corn flakes, and other seemingly gluten-free cereals usually contain barley malt flavoring.
Solution: Look for cereals clearly marked gluten-free.

Food: Frozen meat patties, sausages, and hot dogs
The culprit: They often use bread crumbs, wheat flour, or wheat starch as a binding agent or filler.
Solution: Read labels carefully, and make your own when possible, or simply abstain.

Food: Japanese soba noodles and miso
The culprit: Soba noodles are gluten-free if made with pure buckwheat, but they can also be made with wheat flour. As for miso, which is usually fermented soy, it’s also sometimes mixed with fermented barley, wheat, or rice.
Solution: Skip these when ordering out, and read labels carefully before buying to make at home.

Food: Imitation seafood, such as crab in sushi
The culprit: It often contains wheat starch.
Solution: Opt for pure, raw fish, and watch out for popular seafood and crab dips.

Author: Lisa Turner

Copyright 1999-2009 Natural Solutions: Vibrant Health, Balanced Living/Alternative Medicine/InnoVisi...